Home Government Agencies NASA About, Website, Contact Details

NASA About, Website, Contact Details

NASA About, Website, Contact Details
About National Assembly Services Authority
Headquarters: Banjul, The Gambia

About National Assembly Services Authority

The National Assembly of The Gambia is the unicameral legislature of the Gambia. The authorisation for the National Assembly lies in Chapter VII of the 1997 Constitution of The Gambia. It is composed of 58 Members who serve a five-year term. 53 Members are directly elected while the remaining five are appointed by the President. Members are elected in single-member constituencies using the simple majority, or first-past-the-post system.

Representative politics in The Gambia began in the 1840s. The first official representative called the Legislative Council was established in 1843 with three European Members, all of whom were nominated by the Governor. In the 1880s Mr. Richards was nominated as the first Gambian member in the then Council.
In 1942 however, the provision of having representatives from both the Muslim and Christian communities in Bathurst (Banjul) was created.

NASA Websites

NASA Contact Details

» Address:
National Assembly, New Assembly Building Reg. Pye Lane,
Banjul, The Gambia

» Email:

» Tel.:
220) 4228305, 4226643, 4201326


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here